2003 North Carolina/South Carolina State CAP Council Essay Contest Results Announced

The recipients of the scholarships given in 2003 Essay Contest which was sponsored by the Community Action Program Council of North/South Carolina and Region 8 UAW, Director Gary Casteel have been announced. This program awards a total of $3,200 to graduating high school students who will be furthering their education. The UAW realizes that a good education is essential in order to build a better tomorrow for everyone.

Thank you to everyone who entered the contest and congratulations to the following students.

FIRST PLACE: Robert L. Rhyne, III, Gastonia, NC, who will be attending University of
North Carolina at Charlotte.

SECOND PLACE: Sunny Nicole Dyer, Mount Holly, NC, who will be attending the
University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

THIRD PLACE: Leigh Lane Edwards, Matthews, NC, Leigh will be attending
Appalachian State University.

FOURTH PLACE: Timothy Craig Harmon, Bessemer City, NC, Timothy will be
Attending the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Ron Melton






Contact Region 8
Webmaster John Davis

All information contained with the Region 8 Web Site is copyrighted© by UAW Region 8.
It cannot be reused or printed without written consent from UAW Region 8.